Published on March 1, 2022

Status of the Territorial Just Transition Plans in central and eastern Europe: December 2021 update

This briefing, the fifth in our series on the Territorial Just Transition Plans (TJTPs), provides an overview of the general Territorial Just Transition Plan progress in seven CEE countries: Bulgaria, Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. It also details the various levels of adherence to the European Union’s partnership principle in the plans; focuses on the compatibility of the different Territorial Just Transition Plans with the Commission’s recently published Staff Working Document on the Just Transition Plans; and provides recommendations resulting from the analyses provided.

An annex to this briefing containing data for Slovakia is also available.

Download pdf